“What do you mean you are going to run 100 miles?!?! Are you crazy?”

The conversation goes something like this:

Me: “I’m going to run 100 miles.”

Person X: “What do you mean you are going to run 100 miles?!?! Are you crazy?”

Me: “Yes, but it doesn’t bother me much.”

 724867-1070-0022s

In the past I have lead advocacy and awareness programs about how cancer affects us all, and what we can do about it. This summer, I will be taking part in the Million Dollar Marathon which is being organized and presented by Above + Beyond Cancer. Above + Beyond is a public charity that was organized in 2011 to elevate the lives of those touched by cancer. In 2013, the organization is focused on reducing new cancer cases and cancer recurrence through programs that emphasis diet and vigorous physical exercise.

This marathon will involve 160 runners, each taking their turn as we run across the US 26.2 miles at a time.

My goal is to complete four consecutive marathons in a row. It is a total of 104.8 miles. I will be starting in the Washington DC area and running east late in July.

Now’s normally where the “That boy’s crazy” part comes in.

Cancer is no joke, and you do not have to be crazy in order to get it. Cancer does not care what colour your skin is, who you pray to or if you have plans for the rest of your life. Cancer is a bastard and I am going to run it back to hell. I only ask you show your support for the crazy running man on my donation page.

While I have chosen to push myself past my known limits, into what I am sure will be a challenge, my goal is to motivate someone into action toward their own goals.

Billy Joel said it best:

Please visit my donation page and show your support. No donation is too small and all are tax deductable.

 

http://coasttocoastforcancer.org/RoninSherpa/

Leave a Reply

