“That sure is a skinny bike…”

Last night I went for a ride in my neighborhood on my Specialized Transition. Not a training ride, just kind of tooling around. There is a slight hill in one of the parking lots I was coasting down when I noticed a group of children pushing their bikes up.

“That sure is a skinny bike…” one of them yelled.

“I know. It’s crazy, isn’t it?” I replied. “Why are you pushing your bikes? Why don’t you ride them?”

“Because Andy’s chain came off.” One replied.

“I’m a bike mechanic. I can fix it if you want.”

I stopped and fixed Andy’s chain, got them all to slap me a ‘high five’ and sent the kids on their way.

Now I am ‘Skinny Bike Dude.’ I guess there could be worse titles.

Leave a Reply

