2011 REDUX: Top 10 of 100 Things T.D.B.I.D. List (Bucket List)

In following this blog, you have seen that I keep a list of “100 Things To Do Before I Die” which some people call a Bucket List. (BTW, Thanks for that sucky movie, Jack and Morgan.)

History of the 100 Things T.D.B.I.D. List:

A woman I was dating had a relative pass away in another state. Being the good boyfriend I offered to drive her the 13 hours to the funeral. Spending 13 hours in a tiny sports car with someone will test your resolve. I packed crossword puzzles, magazines, drinks and snacks… and a pad of paper with pens. I knew we would go batty.

The trip there was uneventful. In saying that, I mean we were two people in love, sharing our time together, and off on what was a little adventure even though it was to deal with a dark subject matter.

Funerals bring your mortality into focus: We will all die one day. I do not mean to be morbid, I’m just stating the facts: Our lives are linier. We are born, we live a little while, and then we cease to exist. I will not go into the religious side of this discussion, as that is not the subject matter of this blog, but no matter what you believe, we can all agree that at some point this life ends for us all.

In the car on the way home, we had the chance to think about our own lives and what we wanted to accomplish with them. At some point I asked her to bring out the pad and draw a line down the middle. One side was for her, and the other side was for me. We made our first list. At 100 things we stopped. No I mean we STOPPED: we had to pull over and go pee. Dude, when you gotta go, you gotta go. (Death pun intended.)

While the relationship with that girlfriend did not endure, the 100 Things List did.

I encourage everyone to have a list and post it on your fridge so you can see it. The act of writing things down turns dreams into goals. Looking at them each day keeps them in focus. I have a big fat red magic marker that is only for marking things off the list. When I quit smoking, I made a huge production and invited friends over for dinner just to witness the marking of that one off the list. Your life is important enough to live. Challenge yourself. See what you are capable of doing. Don’t be the fat slob who dies of heart failure. Give your life more meaning than that. Share your goals with the world and at some point someone else is going to say “I dig that too. Wanna see if we can do it?”

I believe the items on your list should be for you. there are no silly things, don’t put yourself down by belittling your own passions. Follow them.

My current Top 10 of

100 Things To Do Before I die:

1. Finish an Ironman Distance Triathlon

2. Ride a bicycle in France (L’Alpe d’Huez)

3. Be a father

4. Help others selflessly

5. See the Worlds Largest Frying Pan (It is in Wilmington, Del.)

6. Own an old Chevy Pickup truck

7. Make a positive difference in someone’s life

8. Know true love

9. Raise $100,000 each for Cancer research (Cancer blows) and the American Red Cross Disaster Relief program.

10. Learn to play “Lilly was here” and “Lisa” on my sax

  

 
 
 
 

 

 

What are your top 10?

What is important to you?

What is the meaning of your life?

What can you accomplish?

Leave a Reply

