assault at 17th and missouri

Last night someone used a two ton vehicle as an assault rifle and attempted to assassinate four inosent people merely for the fact they were riding bicycles.

 

“People, I just want to say, you know, can we all get along? Can we get along? Can we stop making it, making it horrible for the older people and the kids?…It’s just not right. It’s not right. It’s not, it’s not going to change anything. We’ll, we’ll get our justice….Please, we can get along here. We all can get along. I mean, we’re all stuck here for a while. Let’s try to work it out. Let’s try to beat it. Let’s try to beat it. Let’s try to work it out.”

Rodney King – May 1, 1992, on the third day of the L.A. riots

My thoughts and prayers go out to those hurt in this senseless attack.

 

7 Responses to “assault at 17th and missouri”

  1. That makes me so sad! Seriously?! What is wrong with people? What a crazy reason to run down someone. Jealous much that they’re not paying for gas?! I mean, really?!!

  2. I know, right? The guy should be shot.

  3. randmiller Says:

    The worst part is the fact that about 50% of comments to the SFGate article are the usual “they were probably breaking the rule of the road, so it was OK to hit them.” (admittedly, 90% of commenters are probably braindead rednecks anyway.)

    Still, I hate that. Hate it. Even if they WERE riding like idiots, since when does running a stop-sign merit murder? I can’t carry a magnum and clock every driver who speeds, can I?

    • I’m right there with you Rand. I lived in a rural North Carolina mountain town for a few years. There were no street lights, no bike lanes and I got hit a few times. Out there I just had to expect to get hurt and deal with it. Today I swear by Giro helmets because they have saved my egg from cracking open.
      But to see what happened with this guy is just disturbing. There is no room for that kind of rage between a two ton object moving at 50kph and a person on a carbon fiber wheelie bike wearing not much more than their undies. Those four people are lucky to be alive and that man is a sick and twisted person who has no place operating a vehicle ever again.

  4. wow, do you have the article i would like to read??? also-this is where i get torn in my belief structure…i was raised to believe in capital punishment, but my views have changed. there has to be justice i feel to bring peace, but i am so torn. there are so many tormented people in the world tormenting others. “hurt people hurt people”. i wish we could get to the root of the dis-ease in people to cure the symptoms. the symptoms being senseless acts of murder. but gandhi said something so profound, “an eye for an eye and the whole world is blind…” i agree, like i said to a degree. i feel powerless because i would like to remove the pain of the family members in this senseless loss. great post, my love….makes me pause for a moment in my own thought provocation. i am at a loss in my head……gives me something to marinate and digest on. ❤ thank you.

  5. Hey love. The original article is attached to the “Last night…” statement above. Just click on it.
    The police have arrested this guy and he is being evaluated. We already know he will be found emotionally unstable. I believe in capital punishment. Sadly, however I think it is ineffectual as a crime deterrent, but I can’t think of anything else. Life in prison does sound worse, but then the community takes on the burden of caring for the criminal. Which is ethically and morally more reprehensible? I don’t have that answer.
    Our lives and our health are our most precious gift and I believe strongly in doing everything possible to bring better quality to the lives of those around me. However when the barbarians are at the gate, it is time for action. I had the privilege to serve in the USAF and have been in some really bad places and had to do some things that are just not dinner conversation. I value life above all, but how can we comfort the criminal who knowingly and with intent causes harm to another? Fly a plane into a building? Run over a cyclist with your car? The caliber of the assault is the same. I mean, how senseless is hating someone because they talk to a different invisible man in the sky?
    Am I torn? You bet. I don’t want anyone’s child to have to do the things I’ve done for the sake of our freedom, but it is a necessary evil of maintaining our societal structure. Is it perfect? No. But we have both spent time in countries with less structure and know that is not the answer. Anarchy is sexy, but it doesn’t work.
    This guy can not be trusted to ever drive a motor vehicle ever again. I would be reticent to ever let him out of prison. Speaking as a cyclist who has been struck by a moving vehicle and a tax paying citizen, I don’t like the idea of paying for this guys cable TV.

Leave a Reply

