Running in the rain…

Running in the rain

into the dark

not looking for the end

not remembering the start

feeling each cool drop

falling on my cheeks

can’t remember loving life

not this mush, not for weeks

paved path stretches

endless into the night

only my foot falls and raindrops

and the humming of the streetlight

heart rate is up

but my chest continues to rise and fall

the rain has soaked through me

bike shorts and all

the cool water runs

down my legs to the ground

with every step

into it I pound

endless is the run

but good is the pain

today I thank God

I got to run in the rain.

Leave a Reply

